Seavey Wires The Field For Second Golden Driller


Logan Seavey celebrates his second Chili Bowl Nationals victory Saturday night. (Brian Walker photo)

TULSA, Okla. – Logan Seavey completed a clean sweep of the 38th Chili Bowl Nationals powered by NOS Energy Drink Saturday night with a wire-to-wire victory in the 55-lap championship main event.

Despite dealing with flu-like symptoms for much of the week, Seavey won Monday’s Race of Champions and his prelim night feature on Friday before crushing the field Saturday for a $20,000 triumph.

After an initial attempt at the start was negated by a flipping Michael Pickens, Seavey motored past polesitter Buddy Kofoid on the high side, cut down to the bottom, and never looked back again.

Seavey led all 55 laps and held off Kofoid through several late-race restarts on a rubber-down racing surface en route to a .392-second victory in the Victory Fuel No. 39 for Kevin and Jordan Swindell.

It marked the second straight Chili Bowl triumph for Seavey and the sixth overall Golden Driller for Kevin Swindell, who won four as a driver and added his second as an owner in the Super Bowl of Midget Racing.

“It’s the Chili Bowl and I had to do what was needed to perform,” said Seavey in victory lane. “I couldn’t be happier to be [standing] here. This is the biggest race of my life and now I’ve won it twice.

“I have so much fun with these guys! This is unbelievable.”

Kofoid stalked Seavey late but could never make a move, forced to settle for second. Corey Day completed the podium, followed by hard charger Daison Pursley, who stormed from 20th to fourth.

Hank Davis closed the top five, followed by Shane Golobic, Tanner Carrick, Spencer Bayston, Michael Faccinto and Jake Swanson.

This story will be updated.

38th Chili Bowl Nationals; NOS Energy Drink Driller Day; Tulsa (Okla.) Expo Raceway; Jan. 13, 2024

NOS Energy Drink Chili Bowl A-Feature (55 laps): 1. 39-Logan Seavey [2]; 2. 71W-Michael Kofoid [1]; 3. 41-Corey Day [4]; 4. 86-Daison Pursley [20]; 5. 29S-Hank Davis [5]; 6. 17W-Shane Golobic [9]; 7. 98-Tanner Carrick [3]; 8. 1S-Spencer Bayston [6]; 9. 5U-Michael Faccinto [18]; 10. 55A-Jake Swanson [10]; 11. 68K-Emerson Axsom [11]; 12. 67-Ryan Timms [8]; 13. 31B-Chase Johnson [13]; 14. 71K-Kale Drake [22]; 15. 27W-Colby Copeland [17]; 16. 1I-Briggs Danner [23]; 17. 11A-Andrew Felker [15]; 18. 5CB-Karter Sarff [24]; 19. 88-Tanner Thorson [7]; 20. 71P-Cannon McIntosh [21]; 21. 5-Chase Briscoe [19]; 22. 21J-Kameron Key [14]; 23. 40X-Steven Snyder Jr. [12]; 24. 59-Michael Pickens [16].