Swindell Tops Wednesday’s Chili Bowl Entry Pool

Five-time Chili Bowl winner Sammy Swindell is among Wednesday's preliminary night entries. (Jack Reitz photo)

TULSA, Okla. – Five-time Chili Bowl Nationals powered by NOS Energy Drink champion Sammy Swindell leads Wednesday’s pool of entries for York Plumbing Qualifying Night at Tulsa Expo Raceway.

Swindell, the Germantown, Tenn., veteran who has amassed more Golden Driller trophies than any other driver in Chili Bowl history, will pilot his familiar Swindell-Bertrand Motorsports Stanton SR-11x-powered Spike Chassis as he chases a record-extending sixth triumph in the Super Bowl of Midget Racing.

The 68-year-old Swindell previously won the Chili Bowl in 1989, ’92, ’96, ’98, and 2009. Perhaps most astonishing, he’s won his five Chili Bowl titles with five different car owners.

Swindell will contend for a prelim night victory alongside past prelim night winner Jonathan Beason, who is back with Hard 8 Motorsports for another Chili Bowl run. Beason’s lone weekday feature win came in 2014, and he’s traditionally raced on Tuesday night for his past 12 Chili Bowl appearances.

Alex Bright, who won his preliminary feature in 2016, is also entered in Wednesday’s field. Bright’s most recent Wednesday night run came in 2021, when he finished runner-up and locked into the championship feature that year as well.

Additional heavy hitters in the Wednesday entry pool include former NASCAR national series driver Tanner Berryhill, USAC sprint car ace Kyle Cummins, West Coast stars Michael Faccinto and Mitchel Moles, reigning NARC 410 sprint car champion Corey Day, NBC and MRN broadcaster Dillon Welch, five-time Chili Bowl feature starter Blake Hahn, and multi-time All Star sprint car champion Tyler Courtney.

In total, 74 of this year’s 373 expected Chili Bowl entries are slated for Wednesday’s preliminary program. One of those, the RMS Racing No. 2s, has not yet announced a driver.

Action at Tulsa Expo Raceway kicks off with hot laps at 4 p.m. Central and racing following at 5 p.m. Central. Those unable to watch at the racetrack can view the action live on FloRacing.

York Plumbing Qualifying Night Entries

No. – Driver – Hometown

M1 – Colby Stubblefield – Seagoville, Texas
1 – Sammy Swindell – Germantown, Tenn.
1a – Trey Osborne – Columbus, Ohio (R)
1i – Briggs Danner – Allentown, Pa.
2b – Tanner Berryhill – Bixby, Okla.
2f – Casey Friedrichsen – Arthur, Iowa (R)
2s – TBA – TBA (RMS Racing)
3g – Kyle Cummins – Princeton, Ind.
3w – Brandon Waelti – Sun Prairie, Wis.
4b – Chelby Hinton – Dubberly, La.
4f – Chad Frewaldt – Kansas City, Kan.
4h – Caleb Padgett – Madisonville, Texas
F5 – Devin Simmons – Knoxville, Iowa
5d – Michael Stewart – Hometown Unknown (R)
5u – Michael Faccinto – Hanford, Calif.
6d – Isaac Chapple – Willow Branch, Ind.
7dk – Darren Kauffman – Waynesboro, Pa.
7j – Shawn Jackson – Bear, Del.
7L – Jarrad Warhurst – Joshua, Texas
7m – Mike Hess – Riverton, Ill.
7mf – Chance Morton – Coweta, Okla.
08j – Jace McIntosh – Bixby, Okla.
08k – Brody Wake – Lake Havasu City, Ariz. (R)
8j – Jonathan Beason – Broken Arrow, Okla.
8x – Jeff Schindler – Evansville, Ind.
9p – Kevin Cook – Winchester, Ind.
14m – Ben Worth – Coalinga, Calif.
15f – Brandon Dean – Sapulpa, Okla. (R)
16c – David Camfield Jr. – Decatur, Ill.
17L – Wyatt Rotz – Spring Run, Pa.
17x – Kurt Stellhorn – Baldwin, Ill.
19t – Mitchel Moles – Raisin City, Calif.
20s – John Sarna – Huntington Beach, Calif.
21r – Chase Young – Altoona, Iowa (R)
22j – Zach Hampton – Mooresville, Ind.
22r – Gage Laney – Tulsa, Okla.
22x – Steven Shebester – Mustang, Okla.
23k – Kyle Simon – Covington, Ohio
23p – Preston Lattomus – Lewes, Del.
23t – Tristan Lee – Biloxi, Miss.
25b – Steve Buckwalter – Royersford, Pa.
25m – Alex Bright – Collegeville, Pa.
27w – Colby Copeland – Roseville, Calif.
31s – R.J. Corson – Markham, Ill. (R)
35h – A.J. Hernandez – Phoenix, Ariz.
41 – Corey Day – Clovis, Calif.
44b – Branigan Roark – Lincoln, Mo.
45s – Caleb Stelzig – Albuquerque, N.M. (R)
48n – Wout Hoffmans – Boxmeer, NB, Netherlands
49 – Dillon Welch – Carmel, Ind.
52 – Blake Hahn – Sapulpa, Okla.
53r – Sean Robbins – Collinsville, Ill.
55a – Jake Swanson – Anaheim, Calif.
57 – Tyler Courtney – Indianapolis, Ind.
60x – Garet Williamson – Columbia, Mo.
67k – Brent Crews – Denver, N.C.
68w – Chance Crum – Snohomish, Wash.
70 – Cade Cowles – Coweta, Okla.
71 – Jade Avedisian – Clovis, Calif.
71k – Kale Drake – Collinsville, Okla.
71m – Paul May – Terre Haute, Ind. (R)
73d – David Gasper – Santa Barbara, Calif.
75g – Daniel Whitley – Ferndale, Calif.
80d – Keith Martin – Cleburne, Texas
81c – Colten Cottle – Kansas, Ill.
81k – Dekota Gay – Gold Coast, Queensland, Aus. (R)
83m – Rylan Gray – Greenfield, Ind.
86 – Daison Pursley – Locust Grove, Okla.
91x – Danny Wood – Norman, Okla.
96x – Logan Mitchell – Santa Cruz, Calif. (R)
99k – Robert Carson – Concord, Calif.
251 – Johnny Brown Jr. – Mauriceville, Texas
938 – Bradley Fezard – Bonnerdale, Ark. (R)
X – Charlie Louden – Camden, Ark.

74 projected entries as of 12 p.m. CT.

For Race Face Digital merchandise please visit our online store!

Don’t forget to follow Race Face Digital on social media.